About us

The Comedy Poster Awards 2016 is a cheeky little award which is now in its 3rd year.

The Comedy Poster Awards was set up in 2014 as a place to reward the fantastic posters created for the Fringe each year.

Founder Gina Lyons says:

Edinburgh is filled with posters. I often go to see a show based on a poster that made me laugh. Months, effort and a lot of attempts go into making posters and I think in 2014 it’s about time we award that. I had the idea for the Comedy Poster Awards whilst chatting to comedian Harry Deansway at last year’s Fringe. I was cracking up at his genius poster (the back was the back of his bald head) and I told him if there was an award for posters he would take first place. So I created one.

The Comedy Poster Awards views itself as the comedy awards naughty, drunk little sister and aims to make two comedians a little less poorer each year whilst supplying the entire industry with a fun, old knees up.

The first ever awards were hosted by multi award winning comedian Russell Kane who said at the time;

Buzzing to be the poster boy of the poster awards. One thing’s for sure; that night, I’m gonna nail being one dimensional.

Holly Walsh took the first place prize in the first year with her poster for ‘Never Had It.’

The judge of Comedy Poster Adwards 2015 Alex Hardy  (The Times) says:

I want a poster that’s more than just an advert for a show, or wallpaper for Edinburgh. I want a poster that makes my eyes laugh.